MockCyclist’s Weblog

Rhine Cycle Route – Full GPS Route Map – Andermatt to Rotterdam

I’ve spent far too much time compiling the entire Rhine cycle route. I bought the guides and plotted the route on both sides of the river. Some resources show the route continuing north on both sides of the Rhine beyond Duisburg, but my guide shows a single route only.

So … just need to decide how much of and in which direction I may do this route !

Rhein-Radweg #1 Andermatt to Schaffhausen (188 miles)
via Chur, along the Bodensee and through Konstanz

Rhein-Radweg #2E Schaffhausen to Karlsruhe (209 miles)
via Basel and north on the German side of the Rhine

Rhein-Radweg #2W Schaffhausen to Karlsruhe (222 miles)
via Basel, then through Strasbourg on the French side of the Rhine

Rhein-Radweg #3 Karlsruhe to Leimersheim (10 miles)
A short single route section

Rhein-Radweg #4E Leimersham to Mainz (104 miles)
via Mannhein on the east side

Rhein-Radweg #4W Leimersheim to Mainz (86 miles)
on the west side, via Speyer and Mannheim, and Worms

Rhein-Radweg #5 Mainz to Bad Honnef (99 miles)
via Koblenz

Rhein-Radweg #6E Bad Honnef to Duisburg (87 miles)
via Bonn, Koln and Dusseldorf on the east side

Rhein-Radweg #6W Bad Honnef to Duisburg (91 miles)
via Bonn, Koln and Neuss on the west side

Rhein-Radweg #7 Duisburg to Rotterdam (198 miles)
via Arnhem and Dordrecht

December 1, 2008 - Posted by | Cycle Trail Maps

11 Comments »

  1. Thanks for this!! I can almost asure you, it will be put to good use in two weeks time. Myself and my boyfriend will be setting of for a 10-day cycle tour from Nijmegen to Heidelberg, using the Rhine River and your maps as our guide!

    Comment by Jackie | June 19, 2009 | Reply

    • Hope you find the route helpful. I cycled in Germany earlier this year but so far not along the Rhine … hoping to do a good section in the coming months.

      Comment by mockcyclist | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. I cycled from Cambridge to Les Gets last summer. In a couple of weeks I hope to cycle back up the Rhone valley from Lake Geneva then all the way down the Rhine – your gpx file on Bikely seems an amazing resource as I travel with a Garmin on my handlebars. Would appreciate any comments about the trip especially with regard to accommodation.
    Best regards and thanks for posting up such a detailed gpx track 🙂

    Comment by Geoff | June 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. Wish I’d spotted your route before – my chap’s out there doing it now, with books in hand, plotting as they go – how tedious!

    Comment by kathy rickard | July 7, 2010 | Reply

  4. l am glad l found this site. I will be putting it to use in the next year 2012 when l will be coming from Australia to ride the Rhine.
    It has been difficult finding information and this seems the best so far.
    What other books or maps should l get apart from road maps to help or should l wait untill l arrive in Germany before getting anything else?

    Comment by ian smith | May 12, 2011 | Reply

  5. This is a great help! Thanks a lot!
    As #4 I hope to cycle the Rhine in 2012 with some friends.

    Comment by Stas | June 14, 2011 | Reply

  6. Great map! I will be using this next summer, what is the best resource on finding campsites along the rhine?

    Thanks in advance,

    Shane

    Comment by Shane Alexander | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  7. Great map thanks, I’ll be doing the full route during the last 2 weeks in June 2012

    Comment by Craig | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  8. Hi Ian, I am in Sydney and a group of 6 of us is planning to ride from Freidichshafen to Mainz in June 2012. I agree the site is excellent adn gives me ideas about GPSs…. Next step accommodation!

    Comment by Maurice Ripley | March 13, 2012 | Reply

  9. We’re travelling from Australia and will be there in July with our tandem. These maps are really helpful. Thanks very much.
    Sue & Evan

    Comment by Evan Chapple (@EvanChapple) | April 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment